Not gonna talk about The Da Vinci Code

I ranted about this in July 2004, so I won’t bore you all here. (That blog entry only got 2 comments, and one of them was from my mom . . . so that is one index of its general interest.) I will just say that this book is so pseudo-intellectual it makes me smile, in a sort of contemptuous way. One has to be completely ignorant in order to look past Brown’s abuse of historical facts; and has to be scared of Christianity in order to get any sort of thrill from Brown’s Jesus/Magdalene plotline. For those interested in reading more, see JesusDecoded.com, brought to you by the US Catholic Bishops. See, they do some good!

3 Responses to “Not gonna talk about The Da Vinci Code

  1. Mr. Speedo Says:

    But I gots Da Vinci FEVER, baby! And on a recent trip to Venice I discovered that DAN BROWN WAS RIGHT ABOUT EVERYTHING!! Isn’t that weird? I mean, all the stuff he wrote about was RIGHT THERE, in VENICE! So that means a lot, as far as I’m concerned. Why should I believe those Bishops? They are part of the CODE and cannot be trusted!

    Just kidding, I’ve never read the book. But Venice was full of intrigue, I suppose… Well, certainly you needed a good map, those streets were CRAZY TIMES!

  2. Curly Says:

    I have heard tell that the book is in your house . . . how do I know YOU aren’t part of the “greatest cover-up in human history”? With an absurd name like “Mr. Speedo” I have my doubts that you are wholly truthful abou this. My advice: stay away from the movie. You will be corrupted by it.

  3. Shana Says:

    Well Curly, you did talk about it so….There are a lot of great documentaries on right now about the Da Vinci Code. One of the best is “Debunking the Da Vinci Code”. It’s a lot of fun. I plan to see the movie but as I believe I’m already corrupted based on my documentary viewing – I think I’m ok!

Leave a Reply

