Is this the very same CVH?

I don’t know why I decided to read about extreme skiing in the French Alps at 12:35 a.m., but imagine my surprise when I came across a familiar name:

chad obit

This guy is a few years younger than me, which leads me to believe that our old classmate is still alive, and not transformed to a splotch of Californian goo at the bottom of a French crevasse. But I wonder if it’s more scary, or more exhilarating, to fall 490 feet to one’s death.

2 Responses to “Is this the very same CVH?”

  1. Mark Says:

    I was always a bit jealous of CVH, so if he did extreme skiing in the French Alps, then, well, I’m still jealous… He always had such a carefree attitude… Oh well, may he rest in peace.

    But I don’t think it’s the same guy… too young. I remember Chad being in our targeted group of old seniors who had the talk with Mr. Hoeksema about not writing our own excuse notes. He probably did anyway. Lucky bloke.

  2. Curly Says:

    No, it wasn’t the same guy. The NY Times piece said he was from Minnesota or somewhere up north.

    Chad used to live around the corner from me when I lived on on Alburtis near 168th Street, and we walked home from the bus together a few times. This was before he became super cool, and before I became super geeky. (We were each well on our way, though.) One time he busted out these killer throwing stars he had bought out of a karate magazine, and we spent a few minutes flinging them at his parents’ garage door. Good times!

Leave a Reply

