Boot time

Wow, somebody just got booted from the grad program here! Kind of makes me feel like finishing ASAP, just in case the people in charge start asking what I’ve been up to for the past 6 years . . . Actually, I’m making good progress now that I have narrowed down my project and focused my thesis. Plus, by the end of the year I’ll have had two of my essays published in peer-reviewed scholarly journals, which is a lot more than most grad students manage. And these are not little piddly things like you find in Notes & Queries (though those snippets are often interesting). Let’s just say that the first one makes me the Alastair Fowler of African-American slave poetry, and in the other I expose the theological obtuseness of much of the past 30 years of scholarship on one of England’s finest Elizabethan poets. Are they gonna kick the Alastair Fowler of African-American slave poetry out of the program? I didn’t think so.

Anecdote about the person getting booted: when I met her, she introduced herself to me in Spanish (standing in the English grad office) and gave me a cold fish handshake. Then immediately asked if I knew anyone who could take in 5 kittens. We went our separate ways only to meet in the elevator the next day. The very next day. She introduces herself to me in Spanish, cold handshake, 5 kittens question . . . whoa . . . mind like a steel trap! Some people who had a class with her said she performed unspeakable violence on literary texts by subjecting everything she read to a crude Marxist reading, no matter how anachronistic the application or inappropriate the context. Most recently she’s been sending e-mail after mass e-mail to the grad list about the importance of “solidarity” in dealing with immigration. I finally told Gmail to delete anything from her upon receipt.

Well, I wish her no ill, as she has plenty of that already. But I still get the feeling that I need to pick up the pace and stop being such an MOL. Doesn’t help that I’m presenting a paper in Utah this October on a topic unrelated to my dissertation—though when I submitted the abstract it was part of it. Oy!

Saludos, and in solidarity,
Curly

4 Responses to “Boot time”

  1. Subcomandante Insurgente Marcos Says:

    Well, at least I’ll always think you’re a good person. Even if you get the boot.

    ¡YA BASTA!

  2. Jim Says:

    has anybody seen one gray boot? or these are the bootses that my father wore …

  3. Curly Says:

    Seems that Subcomandante Insurgente Marcos doesn’t count as a comment . . . it says “1 comment” only after Jim posted his classic quotes from Hume Lake and Be Somebody.

  4. Subcomandante Insurgente Marcos Says:

    It is because the system has failed. Or someone is trying to squelch la voz de la revolucion!

Leave a Reply

