Addendum to Haggard comments

In my last post I said, of Ted Haggard, “hypocrisy runs no deeper than this.” Upon reflection, I see that I was wrong. I now don’t believe that Haggard was a hypocrite. Yes, he was preaching against homosexuality while engaging in it himself, but the mere act doesn’t make him a hypocrite. He would have had to preach against it while secretly believing that it was not wrong. I think he probably always thought it was wrong, but, like any vice, found impossible to overcome. So he was weak but not hypocritical. My thinking on this was influenced by these comments over at FirstThings.com.

Leave a Reply

