Is the grey card obsolete?

I was thinking tonight . . . in the age of digital photography, is there any more need for a grey card? It used to be (for me, anyway) that I would take a light reading off the grey card, and set my camera accordingly. Most of the time it would give me a good exposure. But I wouldn’t know until the film was developed and prints were made. Now I can just adjust the shutter time and lens aperture on the fly, until the camera’s display shows me something that looks good.

If this means the death of the grey card, I think we should have a party some time.

2 Responses to “Is the grey card obsolete?”

  1. rolandlim Says:

    Grey card is probably not very useful for exposure today with digital photogrpahy. However, don’t throw it away yet. It can be extremely useful as a refernce for setting color balance. Under artifical ighting, it can often be difficult to obtian cinsitent color and a grey card can be of great use under such situation.

    Cheers,

    Roland

  2. Curly Says:

    That’s a great point, which I didn’t think of until reading your comment. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

