Ganglion cyst chronicle, part 1

About 2-3 weeks ago I was mildly horrified to discover a bump on the back of my wrist, about an inch long by 3/4 inch wide. This bump virtually disappeared when my hand was aligned with my arm, but when I pointed it downward, the bump became quite prominent.

I went to a sports medicine doctor last Thursday to have it looked at, and she immediately pronounced it a ganglion cyst. Read this article to learn that no one knows why they form. Sometimes they form on earlobes and the side of the skull. Who knows where they come from?

My options were 1) ignore it, 2) have it aspirated (sucked out with a needle), or 3) have it surgically removed. Options like 4), whack the crap out of it with a Bible, are no longer considered viable. As the article linked above explains, “because they have not been shown to keep the ganglion cysts from returning and could, in fact, cause further injury.”

I went back on Friday to have it aspirated, but the doctor wasn’t able to extract it. I don’t know why, and she said it was the first cyst she had been unable to remove. However, I think she poked and prodded it so much that it lost its shape: now when I flex my hand, it’s not nearly as prominent, but it’s certainly still there.

Tuesday I have an appointment with an orthopedist to see if he can get the thing.

On the more positive side of the Curly health news, my blood pressure last Thursday was 120/70. And after the doctor I went to the dentist—for the first time in about 8 years. More good news: no new cavities, my gums were in good health, and minimal plaque buildup. The dentist said I’d “dodged a bullet”.

Leave a Reply

