Ahmadinejad at Columbia

Are you all following this story? The nutcake president of Iran was invited to speak on the campus of Columbia University, an invitation promoted by the nutcake president of Columbia, Lee Bollinger. Commentary on this tragically stupid move is ubiquitous online, but here is an excerpt from one of the denunciations.

Friends, please take 60 seconds to read this and let me know what you think. I agree with the point about it being unacceptable to treat genocide as a topic of legitimate debate, but am not so sure about the call to abandon Columbia. I’d think rather the goal should be to renew it by gradually injecting it with common sense, in the form of new professors and new students who are attracted to it precisely because they do not conform to the currently-prevailing views. You can still get a good education there, after all, while not agreeing with the administration’s politics (and looniness).

4 Responses to “Ahmadinejad at Columbia”

  1. Jon Says:

    I’m not sure that the writer’s logic is entirely valid as it seems based in opinion and twisted to suit their argument. It says that the Iranian pres. is the poster boy for genocide. I haven’t seen him on any of those posters, so I’m not sure. Also, the writer makes an assumption that Columbia is purposefully trying to place genocide on the debate table. As if the administration were sitting around saying, “Since we’re all for genocide and evil, it’d be nice if we could use some spectacular personality to sneak the topic into the public forum of debate… Hmm, who’s the current poster boy for genocide anyway?” Not sure about that.

    I thought all the public universities have become depraved institutions, so this doesn’t seem to be any more of a special case than the other articles I read about college professors and administrators throwing common sense out the window, applying double-standards about religious discourse, and cramming secular humanism down everyone’s throat and not acknowledging that it is a religion unto itself.

    Maybe I’ve been watching too many movies, but where was the assassination attempt? I’m not saying that there should’ve been one. I don’t believe that at all. But this country is full of enough ultra-conservative nutjobs that I expected there to be one.

  2. Curly Says:

    There are no actual posters promoting genocide, that I have seen, but I do know that Ahmadinejad is well known for promoting the annihilation of the Jews and the Jewish state. I think that is what the writer was referring to.

    So I guess you are in not in favor of renewing public universities from within? A legitimate position, I think, though I am not at this point sold on it.

  3. Mark Says:

    Judging by Bollinger’s belligerent introduction of the speaker, I think that he had personal reasons for inviting the Iranian President. Maybe he is looking for an appointment to Dubya’s cabinet?

    Anyway, I think it was a way for him and his University to grab headlines, that’s all. He seems like a schmuck. And it was just a poor way to introduce an invited guest, I don’t care who the guest is.

  4. Curly Says:

    There is a sort of twisted logic in inviting someone to appear, but only on the condition that you get to rip into him when he arrives. NOT inviting him in the first place is a much more effective critique.

Leave a Reply

