First digital prints

This week I made the first prints from my Canon 5D, all of them 8x10s. The first four I did on an HP plotter, on 42″ wide glossy paper. They turned out terrible! Probably they were ruined by a number of factors: wrong printer for photos, didn’t use the printer’s own color profile, etc.

Took my laptop to the nearest photo processor this afternoon and had one of the photos reprinted, using their specific printer color profile and the proper “Proof Setup” settings. Much, much better.

I find it funny that I’ve only printed four of the 2,900 pictures I’ve taken since getting the camera on June 15th. But now that my photography skills are improving, alongside my color-correction and other Photoshop skills, I will be printing many more in the months to come.

Leave a Reply

