1 in 92 chance?

I got an e-mail today from a school I applied to. They goofed and sent out the wrong Affirmative Action link, so this message included the right link. We were supposed to download this pdf file, print it out, mark our race and sex boxes, explain whether we like to get off with men or with women or with both or with “Other”, and then pay 41 cents to mail it back to them. I don’t think so.

But they also included all our e-mail addresses in the To: field, rather than the BCC: field. So I looked at the list: 92 applicants. I know three of them. It’s all a game of chance, in the end, this job market thing. But from what I have heard, some positions receive upwards of 500 applications. I guess that means my chances are starting to look pretty excellent! Unless, that is, they nix you for not playing the AA game.

2 Responses to “1 in 92 chance?”

  1. Jon Says:

    Believe it or not, the part of my comment to follow that is quoted is from a Weird Al Yankovic song (“Jerry Spinger” – a parody of “One Week” by the Barenaked Ladies). You should mark that you’re a “gay Jewish black dude”. On second thought, maybe you should mark that you are a Barenaked Lady.

  2. Curly Says:

    I should say that I’m Weird Al. He brings diversity everywhere he goes!

Leave a Reply

