First rejection

Got my first job application rejection today by e-mail:

Dear Curly Couch:

Thank you for submitting your resume for the position of Assistant Professor of _________. We have carefully reviewed the information you submitted, along with that of other applicants.

Although we were impressed with your credentials, we have narrowed our list of candidates and your resume is no longer under active consideration.

We appreciate your interest and wish you success in your future career endeavors.

Sincerely,
Employment & Compensation Services
Anonymous State University

The funny part is that I just sent them my materials yesterday—I guess they really thought long and hard before sending my documents to the round file!

What they mean, of course, is that they had “narrowed their list” before they received mine, and so were able to save time by rejecting it outright. But it’s okay. I would have done the same thing, and in this particular case the university was, frankly, uninteresting to me to begin with, and I applied more from a sense of duty than love. (I.e., I was following the rule that if there’s an opening, apply, and stop to decide whether you like the place only if they express interest in hiring you.)

Leave a Reply

