The human self is a fiction

Hi all, just checking in. Haven’t rapped at ya for a while.

The title of this post is an idea that came to me as I was reading earlier this morning. If it’s true, it’s a big deal, but since I just started thinking about it, I can’t say much more just now. But it has major implications for a theory of language and for mankind’s eternal salvation.

Have a happy Thanksgiving!

2 Responses to “The human self is a fiction”

  1. Jon Says:

    If the human self is a fiction, who is the author? And who is the reader?

  2. Curly Says:

    You ask me as if I have answers! I said “if it’s true,” but in my rush I didn’t say things like “and in what sense might it be true.” It’s at least a twofold question: first, whether “self” or “individualism” or such-like are inventions or not, and second, if not, whether they transcend the capacity of language or whether we are just not seeing the big picture.

    I don’t expect this to make sense to anyone . . . my own head is spinning after reading a certain essay this morning.

Leave a Reply

