First wedding

Saturday I’m shooting my first wedding. But there is no real pressure, since I’m a “second shooter” and all the formal and “important” shots have been assigned to one of the wedding party’s relatives. I’m supposed to be more of a “fly on the wall” who gets pix that the official photog would never have the opportunity to get because he’s too busy following the bride and groom around.

The best thing is that I have already gotten paid for the gig! I immediately reinvested part of that money in a new 50mm f/1.4 lens. This is great for low light, and very inconspicuous—by far my smallest lens. Also the least expensive. (For another $1100 you can get an f/1.2, but really, I challenge anyone to 1) tell the difference between 1.2 and 1.4, and 2) tell the difference between pix shot by the two lenses.) I’m going to take that and my 70-200 f/2.8 (with 2x extender, just in case), and those two should be good for everything.

I’m hoping that if these Saturday pix turn out good I can use them to drum up some biz for next year. Income is going to be steady but paltry for spring and summer . . . wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

